Author Interview on Dodging Raindrops: Poems and Prose of Beauty, Peace and Healing

What inspired you to write, Dodging Raindrops: Poems and Prose of Beauty, Peace and Healing?

© 2013, Loretta McClellan; all rights reserved

© 2013, Loretta McClellan; all rights reserved

Loretta Boyer McClellan: The majority of the poems included in this book were written years before this collection of poetry was published; they were waiting for their time to be shared publicly.  Shortly after Misthaven of Maine: Journey to Beyond, Vol. 2 was published in November 2012, while reviewing my portfolio of unpublished poems, I saw a recurring theme of nature and peace in many of them, which struck me as a great base for a book of poetry.  This core group of poems became inspiration to build upon, which happened over the course of a few months.

I felt a connection to others seeking peace for whatever reason, and for those who enjoy nature in all its many marvels. The book became a natural extension of this connection.

Do you plan to author future books of poetry?

LBM: I hope to do so.  I find poetry is a wonderful creative outlet for me.  I compose poems on-the-go, usually one at a time, inspired by many things, or one thing, or even people. Sometimes I go on poetic streams of thought, where I compose several in a day or period of days, then usually take a break.  There are probably other poetry books that could be put together already, from my existing vault of poetry, but it’s not their time yet to come out and play.  Hopefully sooner than later, though.  At the moment, I am working on another novel.  I enjoy the creative balance.

What is your personal favorite poem in Dodging Raindrops: Poems and Prose of Beauty, Peace and Healing?

author_loretta_boyer_mcclellan_headshot_high_res_copyright_2012_loretta_mcclellan

© 2013, Loretta McClellan; all rights reserved

LBM: I guess it would depend upon the moment, as it can vary, but then it’s also like choosing a “favorite child” at the same time, if you know what I mean.

The time of day affects the poem’s composition.  Many were written during sunrise, which, depending on the time of year it was written and location, could have been around 5 a.m.; it is an entirely hopeful time to write for me.  The late afternoon is another time of day that I find myself waxing poetic.  The experience I have during the composition naturally plays a role in how I experience it as a reader, as well.

That being said, one of my favorites is, “The Gift of the Winnowed Muse.” It was written in a primordial location, full of timelessness and textures.  The poem means something vastly different for each reader, which is why I enjoy it so much—its broad appeal is a gift in itself.

“Ladybug Logic” is such a fun little Haiku.  It has a spritely feel, almost whimsical in very few words, yet the “logic” prevails.

In writing “Find Your Peace,” this poem pretty much sealed the deal for this particular book coming together as it stands today.  This was one poem in particular where I felt like a bystander, along for the ride, yet very much included in the experience and audience of its message.

This book would not have been complete without its namesake, “Dodging Raindrops,” the first poem in this book.  It poses a question that sets up the entire collection to be considered.  It’s an appropriate introduction—a herald, if you will.

Each poem included in Dodging Raindrops: Poems and Prose of Beauty, Peace and Healing has a special place in my heart, otherwise they would not have been included. I eliminated a few poems that were originally included, because they didn’t fully serve the purpose of the theme and for readers; perhaps they will get their turn at a later date.

The important thing is, which poems resonate with each, individual reader?

chapter_swirl

Author, Artist and Poet, Loretta Boyer McClellan is the author and book cover designer of
the Misthaven of Maine series, as well as Dodging Raindrops: Poems and Prose of Beauty, Peace and Healing.

Text, Dodging Raindrops book cover, author photo and logo ©2012-2013, Loretta McClellan; all rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

